top of page

Bouchercon 2014 Schedule... Whew!

I'll be attending my first Bouchercon this week and I'm excited about it. Here's what I know so far about my schedule, NOT including the panels I'm not on, meals and bar chatting.

I'll drive down from L.A. to Long Beach very early Thursday morning. I'm hoping to leave by six or so to beat traffic. We'll see.

anthology cover.jpg

  • Throughout the conference I'll be checking in regularly and occasionally sitting in when they're in need at the California Crime Writers Conference 2015 table (which I'm co-chairing with author Diane Vallere), Regency Foyer (4th flr)

  • Between 11:30 and 1:30 I'll stop by the Brash Books table to meet Joel Goldman, co-founder (along with Lee Goldberg) of Brash, which will be publishing my novel Go Down Hard on May 5, 2015.

  • At 4p Thursday afternoon I'm on a panel called Short But Mighty: The Power and Freedom of the Short Story moderated by Travis Richardson with writers Barb Goffman, Robert Lopresti, Paul D. Marks and Art Taylor. Regency D

  • Thursday night may or may not be the first Bouchercon authors' poker game of what has become, for me, a writers convention ritual. I never play poker except at these events, which is painfully apparent when I have to ask about the rules before every hand. But the other players take it in stride, along with my cash.

  • Friday at 7a I'll be at the Meet the New Authors breakfast to pimp my novel Go Down Hard, which comes out from Brash on May 5. This may be a problem if I play poker until one or two a.m., but that the convention lifestyle. Regency A/B/C

  • At 4:30 I'm moderating a panel called From Page to Screen: Stories in Books, Television, and Movies, with authors Max Allen Collins, Elizabeth Cosin, Andrew Kaplan, Thomas Perry and Taylor Stevens. The talent on this dais is amazing. I can't wait for this one. Promenade A

  • At 8:30p there's a dessert reception sponsored by the Stark Raving Group, who published my novella Psycho Logic this year.

  • More poker

  • Saturday at 8:30a I'll be participating in the once-maligned-and-misunderstood-but-now-back-in-good-graces Men of Mystery event. Again, late night poker may have an impact on my wakefulness for this. Promenade 104 B/C

  • From 12:30-2 I'll be signing the Bouchercon 2014 AnthologyMurder at the Beach, edited by Dana Cameron. I was honored that my story Honeymoon Sweet made the cut. Promenade B/C

  • Time permitting, I will hie from the signing to the Westin where the SoCalMWA, of which I am currently VP, will be co-hosting with Penguin Random House a high tea for librarians. Salon C/D

  • Then, at 6 or 6:30, depending on what page of the website you reference, I'll be going to the Anthony Awards Reception at the Terrace Theater. My short story "Dead End" is a nominee so I will either be celebrating or drowning my sorrows at Grand Central Publishing's Anthony After Party immediately following.

  • More poker.

  • Sunday is panels until mid-day, long goodbyes, and then the drive home.

And there you have it. For my first Bouchercon, it seems pretty booked up to me, but what do I know? I look forward to seeing a lot of friends and making a lot of new ones. If you want to catch up with me, check the Hyatt bar after the last panel of the day.Blog pending

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page